A few of my favourite (story time) things: If you’re happy and you know it

All right, I’m starting a series: A few of my favourite (story time) things. Here’s number one!

Variations on “If you’re happy and you know it” and other songs that everyone knows. You can literally sing virtually anything them–I’m not saying you won’t have to reorganize the words sometimes, but still–and everyone knows them already, so you don’t have to go through new song shock. I have invented songs for almost every story time theme I’ve ever used that you can sing to “If You’re Happy and You Know It”, “The Farmer in the Dell”, “London Bridge”, etc., and while a lot of them are highly forgettable, some of them are rather good! For example (to “If you’re happy…”):

There’s a mouse on my toe, brush it off!
There’s a mouse on my toe, brush it off!
There’s a mouse on my toe, and I wish that it would go,
There’s a mouse on my toe, brush it off!

There’s a mouse on my knee…
I wish that it would flee

There’s a mouse on my belly…
I wish it weren’t so smelly

There’s a mouse on my arm…
And it’s feeling rather warm

There’s a mouse on my chin…
And it’s making me grin

There’s a mouse on my nose…
It doesn’t smell like a rose

There’s a mouse on top of my head…
I think I’ll run away to bed.

Not profound stuff, but the kids love it, especially if you brush it off with great drama! And you can vary it with flies, spiders, ghosts, fleas, bugs, and anything else you like!

I always use this very simple song for playing with the parachute or scarves, to the tune of London Bridge:

We are waving up and down,
Up and down, up and down,
We are waving up and down,
My fair lady (or my dear baby, if you’re doing baby storytime)

We are waving very fast…(very popular, you have to repeat this one several times).
We are waving very slow…
We are waving way down low…
We are waving way up high…(at this point, if you are using a parachute, all the kids will get underneath so you might as well give up and play parachute peekaboo for awhile).

Leave a Reply

