Percy Jackson Readalikes

I’m sure we’re not the only library around that continually needs Percy Jackson and Rick Riordan generally readalikes. Such books are one of my guilty pleasures, so I’m here to share what I consider is a pretty good list. I read a lot of this kind of thing, and I enjoy it, so here goes. These are all highly readable, amusing, exciting, boy-friendly books, all of which share something with the Percy Jackson books. Undoubtedly you and your readers will be familiar with some of these, but hopefully not all! Links are to Amazon, because where else will you find so much information, useful and not?

Sorry if the spacing is off, it seems to work fine in some browsers some of the time, and others not at all!

Armstrong, Kelly and M.A. Marr, Loki’s WolvesLoki

Virtually indistinguishable from Percy Jackson except that it’s about   Norse mythology and has more female presence (and may be slightly better written). It’s book one in an ongoing series.

 

SavageSadda, Charwat. The Savage Fortress

Indian myths and demons, for a nice change! All my Percy Jackson loving kids have gobbled this and the sequel right up!

 

Gregor the OverlanderCollins, Suzanne. Gregor the Overlander

Also really good for kids who want to read the Hunger Games, but their parents aren’t ready for all the YA stuff.

Gregor thinks he’s an ordinary New York City kid, until he’s contacted by giant cockroaches who live in a world under the city, and who believe he can save their world from destruction.

 

Pendragon  MacHale, D.J. The Merchant of Death

Bobby Pendragon is a pretty normal middle-schooler. Then he gets swept into a multi-  dimensional adventure and learns he may be the guy who has to save the universe.

 

Gods  Mebus, Scott. The Gods of Manhattan

Rory discovers the alternate world of Manhattana, where giant rats, kung-fu-fighting  squrrels, and long-dead people co-exist. However, the world of Manhattana is out of balance, and soon Rory’s world may be too, if he can’t rescue some trapped spirits and set them free.

 

Hound  Neff, Henry. The Hound of Rowan

Max McDaniels is a mostly ordinary kid, until he sees things in an old tapestry and then finds himself studying magic and combat at Rowan Academy, preparing to fight an ancient and incredibly powerful demon. Very Percy Jackson, but with an international cast of folkloric characters.

 

ShaUrsu, Anne. The Shadow Thieves

Cousins Charlotte and Zee must save the world from the denizens of the Underworld and a really nasty guy named Phil.

 

There are more, but those are my favourites, and those that work best for readers 9-14.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s